Word of the Week #4:

Persevere

This week, I just happened to use this word in a conversation, and the exact response I got was, “Eh… What?!”

I did not say anything, just gave her a stern look. So she continued, “I know, now you’ll shout ‘Dictionary! Dictionary!’ Am I right?”

Well, back in the good old days, when I was just The Writer Guy, she would have been right.

But now, I am also The Blogger Guy. Now, I have the perfect way and the perfect excuse to make a big deal of anything…

Some might wonder if the poor kid would even read this post, and, more importantly, if she would understand the true meaning.

But I am not one of those. Why? The answer is simple…

Theirs not to make reply,
Theirs not to reason why,
Theirs but to do and die:
Into the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.

– Alfred Lord Tennyson, in The Charge of the Light Brigade

Published by

Yashas Mahajan

Author of Arrkaya: Origins, now available online... Increasingly being referred to as The Writer Guy...

2 thoughts on “Word of the Week #4:”

Leave a Reply

