Word of the Week #12:

Avarice

This is another of those words that have come to define the world as we know it.

Even a brief analysis of world economy would show you how the insatiable greed of a few individuals trumps over collective good.

Yeah, pun not intended… Although I doubt anybody would believe that…

And after hours and hours of contemplation, I still cannot comprehend the reasoning behind it…

I mean, at least in the West, they are more systematic, when it comes to their lust for money and power. They have this whole ruling-the-world-from-the-shadows thing sorted. But closer back home, we are too disorganised for even that…

The thing that really irks me, though, is that far too many people want a lot, but they are just neither smart enough, nor are they willing to work hard enough. And this is especially true for this new generation.

Personally, I have nothing against greed. I think it is a part of human nature. In fact, the ones who aren’t greedy and selfish enough are the ones that freak me out…

And really, being one of the most selfish people you’d ever have the misfortune of encountering, I really do not have any moral high-ground to judge others, do I? Well, at least I have the courtesy of admitting that…

However, at the end of the day, the final moments of Greed, from Full Metal Alchemist, really say it all…

 

Ling: Greed, this is what you desperately wanted, isn’t it?
Greed: Yeah, you’re right. This is what I wanted…

And, might I add, sorry for the MAJOR SPOILERS…

Published by

Yashas Mahajan

Author of Arrkaya: Origins, now available online... Increasingly being referred to as The Writer Guy...

Leave a Reply

