Word of the Week #47:

Kindred

More often than not, we see this word being used in conjugation with “Spirits”.

Not the United Spirits one, of course… That is different…

I wonder if it is a byproduct of the advent of technology or simply a part of growing up, but the general and steady decline in the quality of conversation cannot be ignored.

I, for one, have always found myself quite inept at, and often infuriated by, what is generally defined by the term small talk, and the rise in its prevalence has been mirrored by my growing disinclination towards most social interactions.

However, every few days, or weeks, or even months if I’m being particularly unfortunate, I happen to find myself engaged in a sparkling conversation with either a relative stranger, or an estranged acquaintance, that somewhat reaffirms my faith in human contact.

In the wake of such an encounter, one must find oneself wondering exactly what sparked the exchange? Was it the person, the situation, the topic, or simply good luck? While I can never really know for sure, I do believe the birds of a feather argument does hold true…

It is interesting that I find myself repeating this quote. After all, some encounters leave an impact deeper than most.

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

Published by

Yashas Mahajan

Author of Arrkaya: Origins, now available online... Increasingly being referred to as The Writer Guy...

Leave a Reply

