Word of the Week #64:

Fortuitous

People who know me would probably know how the very prospect of getting a haircut fills my mouth with burning vitriol.

The reaction is almost incomparable, with the possibility of having to clean my room being a major, albeit rare, exception.

Nonetheless, as one grows older, one comes to realise that maintaining these long, glossy, bouncy, wavy hair, which have now come to be a significant part of your identity, is growing more and more untenable every passing day.

“Time erodes us all.”
― Meg Rosoff

With a heavy heart, I decided to pay a visit to the barbers’, and shear off my lustrous mane, lest I ruin whatever still remained of it.

However, as it would turn out, my wallet was completely empty, and a visit was all I could afford to pay.

And, as the gods above would have it, my mane survives another day.

Published by

Yashas Mahajan

Author of Arrkaya: Origins, now available online... Increasingly being referred to as The Writer Guy...

Leave a Reply

