Word of the Week #65:

Cynosure

Last night, as I lay in my bed, my mind spent a few moments organising the schedule for the day. That is just how my mind works.

This morning, however, as I woke up to the pitter-patter of the drops of water falling onto the balcony floor, my mind had somehow been wiped clean.

It is odd how, for no obvious reason, the rain has the power to pull us away from everything that ties us to our world, and spirit us away…

It also has a way of making the entire day about itself.

So, how does one make the most of a rainy day? Well, I, for one, have the simplest of plans.

I just look out the window, and smile.

The rain to the wind said,
‘You push and I’ll pelt.’
They so smote the garden bed
That the flowers actually knelt,
And lay lodged – though not dead.
I know how the flowers felt.

— Robert Frost, Lodged

Published by

Yashas Mahajan

Author of Arrkaya: Origins, now available online... Increasingly being referred to as The Writer Guy...

Leave a Reply

